Historical Society was incorporated in 1960 as a private,
non-profit organization by a group of volunteers
interested in preserving local history.
Society owns and operates The Stoughton Historical Museum, housed in
a solid brick and stone structure built in 1858 to serve the Yankee
settlers as a Universalist church. The church was built in
simple Greek Revival style using "Cream City" brick brought to
Stoughton from Milwaukee by teams of oxen. Designed by Madison
architect, Stephan Vaughan Shipman, it was the first building in
Stoughton to be placed on the National Registry of Historic Places.
The Universalist Church donated the building to be used for a
"museum and educational purposes". In 1960, the Historical
Society established the museum, as a permanent place to preserve the
heritage of the early pioneers and their descendents.
The museum is open
Sundays from Syttende Mai weekend in mid-May through Labor Day weekend. Our
2014 featured exhibit is "Stoughton's Ever-Changing Main Street".
The Society maintains additional exhibits in the 1913 railroad Depot
also home to the Stoughton Chamber of Commerce. The Depot
exhibits focus on railroad artifacts, 19th century farm tools and implements related to
tobacco farming and the Stoughton wagon industry including a wagon
with original paint.
The Society also owns the Luke Stoughton pioneer home thought to
be the first house of the city founder.
Click here to visit our Luke
Stoughton House webpage and see photos from the 2014 Pioneer Day.
Contact us for more information:
We are looking for volunteer docents to staff the museum on Sundays.
No experience is necessary; just a friendly smile and willingness to
work at least one three-hour shift. Contact a board member or
click on the link above for more information.
Coming Soon - New Look to Our Website . . . check back soon.